The Samara Centre for Democracy Welcomes Two New Board Members

Blog Post

Monday, April 11, 2022 View Count = 630

The Samara Centre for Democracy Welcomes Two New Board Members

The Samara Centre for Democracy is honoured to welcome two new members to its Board of Directors, Ranjan Agarwal and Alejandra Bravo.

“Ranjan and Alejandra are each dynamic and active citizens who bring an important lens to our mission of strengthening Canada’s democratic culture,” said Michael MacMillan, Co-Founder and Chair of the Samara Centre. “Their expertise in upholding principles of justice and equity in our society will advance our commitment to evolving Canada’s political culture

Ranjan Agarwal is Partner and Co-Head of Class Actions Practice at Bennett Jones LLP. His practice is focused on complex disputes, including class action, commercial, arbitration, constitutional, privacy, data breach and employment matters. 

“For the first time in my adult life, our democracy seems imperiled: a resurgent and violent nationalism, disinformation amplified by social media, attacks on the integrity of our elections, and renewed questions about democratic governance as a model for our government. In this moment, I am pleased to join the Samara Centre’s board as it responds to these challenges with a view to making Canadian democracy more accessible, responsive, and inclusive.”

Among many recognitions, Precedent magazine, the Canadian Bar Association, and the Ontario Bar Association have recognized Ranjan for his pro bono and community service. In 2015, Canadian Lawyer magazine recognized him as one of its Top 25 Most Influential lawyers.

Alejandra Bravo is Director of Leadership and Training at the Broadbent Institute. Over the course of a decade she has designed and delivered innovative political and civic training for emerging and diverse leaders. 

“It’s a critical time to strengthen democracy in Canada. I experienced the breakdown of democracy having fled a military dictatorship in Chile. I’m committed to building a culture of participation and accountability to the people. We all have power within us, and when we use it, lives can materially be improved. With a new team under the leadership of Sabreena Delhon, I’m excited to join the Samara Centre Board of Directors and I’m looking forward to making a contribution.”

Alejandra’s work promotes and demystifies democratic engagement and participation, supporting leaders and organizations to map public processes and influence decision-makers. She is a facilitator, trainer, mentor, coach and strategist specializing in cross-organizational collaboration. 

Founded in 2007, the Samara Centre has studied the lived experience of elected officials for nearly 15 years. The Samara Centre’s goal is to make Canadian politics more accessible, responsive, and inclusive to all. We are delighted and excited to welcome new Directors to the work of the organization in service of our mission to strengthen Canada’s democracy.

Our Board of Directors is composed of a visionary group of leaders active in their respective fields. The incoming Board Members join the current Members, who are:

Michael MacMillan, Co-founder and Chair

Liban Abokor

Leen Al Zaibak

Kris Archie

Stephanie MacKendrick

Rick Mercer

The Hon. Ratna Omidvar, C.M., O.Ont.

Ruth Ostrower

Chad Rogers

Zain Velji 

Janet Yale

William Young

Please join the Samara Centre in welcoming Alejandra and Ranjan !

To read more about our Board of Directors click here.

On the Samara BlBlog logo representing the letter 'o'g